Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

Typical opening dates and specials

2K views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  digZ 
#1 ·
My gf got me into snowboarding last year and now I am hooked. She said one of the more local hills (to No IL), Chestnut I believe, has dollar days that start in Dec if the weather will support snow.

I was just hoping to see when some of the hills further north (mid to upper WI and UP)?

I have some PTO to burn, but my company likes it to be on the books and not sitting there unscheduled. Any advice if I am looking to book some PTO and safely plan on boarding during it?

I'd like to get a good 4-5 days in the snow if possible. I won't need anything too fancy as I am still a noob.

#2 ·
I introduce this caveat just because I get the impression that the midwest and east are alot harder to know if they will have ANY snow during a specific time period. At least a trip west will gaurantee you snow to slide on, if not pow.

If ur gonna spend the time on the road to go farther why not hop on a plane and enjoy some shit? There are millions of topics about how/when/where to book and spend a cheap good US trip.

Ill give you two: fly into denver, stay in georgetown (cheap), shred loveland (15min from Luv), or stay in Idaho Springs and shred Winter Park. Super easy quick access, cheap towns to stay in, relatively mellow resorts money- and disney-wise.

SLC is super convenient but probably a little more $$ but not sure.

I think Chomps shreds up them there parts u mentioned if u stick with that.

#5 · (Edited)
I introduce this caveat just because I get the impression that the midwest and east are alot harder to know if they will have ANY snow during a specific time period....

If ur gonna spend the time on the road to go farther why not hop on a plane and enjoy some shit? There are millions of topics about how/when/where to book and spend a cheap good US trip....