Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

New (bigger) board...what to expect?

2K views 3 replies 1 participant last post by  Gimpystyle 
G
#1 ·
Hey folks,

I've been riding for some 13 odd years. I'd consider myself a pretty advanced all-mountain rider but a relatively poor park or trick rider. I can bomb down any terrain riding normal, but I can barely ride switch, how lame is that? :laugh: At least I can do pretty decent air.

So, I've never kept track of changes in equipment or really been part of the "culture." So, I've been riding the same board since 1999 - a 152.5 cm Burton Balance (really flexy light park board) with Burton SI bindings and boots....talk about uncomfortable! Still, it's what I'm used to.

Well, I just bought a totally new setup - a Gnu Rider's Choice MTX 161.5 with K2 Cinch ctx bindings and Vans Fargo boots.

What can I expect running such a bigger/stiffer board? (innuendos aside.) I'm 5'11, 165-170 lbs and have a pretty athletic build... Am I going to feel like a total noob on this thing? Should I adjust my stance? Will I be able to toss this thing around like my old board?

p.s.:

Thanks snowolf for the awesome wax tutorials :)

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
I rock the K2 Cinch's too, they're a bit heavier than normal bindings, but once you've got them dialed in, you'll never have to sit down again. I like them better than the Flows b/c they have a real strap setup even though the Flows are lighter. They're nice and snug although its 'hybrid' toe strap that's supposed to function as a toe cup or traditional toe strap sucks as a toe cup, pops up every time you wipe out from toeside.

Oh, and your board is going to probably be a bit more sluggish than you're used to (although a brand new Gnu 161 might weighs less than a 10 year old Burton 152.. dunno). But it'll hold an edge MUCH better than your Burton b/c it's edges are razor sharp, it's stiffer, and longer. Carve away.