Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums - View Single Post - Squaw Valley Dec 26-30th
View Single Post
Old 12-31-2013, 05:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Varza

Default Squaw Valley Dec 26-30th

Hi everyone!

So I just got back from this trip last night and thought I'd share my experience in case anyone cares.

1. Snow quality
As most of you probably know, we're having a streak of awful weather around here. By which I mean, really warm temperatures at daytime (mid 40s to 50 on the mountain) and extremely dry. Sadness. This means I only got to ride on man-made snow and a bunch of ice... I'm guessing this is what the East Coast is like on most years. Oh well, such is our luck. I'm now back to praying for dumps (in mid-January, maybe?).

Also, not very many runs were open. Since I'm a newbie, I stuck to greens, the ones they had the snow guns running on. Some skiers staying at the same place we were said they went on blacks and there were plenty of obstacles, low coverage, etc. Exactly what one would expect...

2. Riding out there
This is the part nobody will care about. Instead of spending the first day on the bunny hill, we went to the upper mountain, to this green that's more like a blue (Gold Coast). I fell on my face twice in the first run, then my knees and ended a rather short day dejected and in pain ("I'm going to sell this stuff and pick up skis!"). Second day, we discovered the bunny slopes. Went a little better, though I was still freaked out that I could no longer link turns. Second half of the day, we went over to Alpine Meadows because the upper mountain was closed. Bad snow situation there too.