Should I get a 146 or a 150 nug?

• Burton Nug 146

Votes: 5 45.5%
  • Burton Nug 150

Votes: 6 54.5%

Burton Nug 146 or 150

6K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  djmisio85 
#1 ·
I've been riding a Burton Custom 156 (2010) for about three years now. I would like to buy a Burton Nug. It would be my first v-rocker. However...

I went to a shop and the shop owner told me I would need a 150 because the 146 doesn't have that much stability (and the 146 was sold out).
However, my previous board was a 156 so with the nug raduction in mind (8-10cm) I would need the 146. I also used the Burton board finder tool and it's suggesting me a 146 based on weight and length.

Should I get the 146 or the 150?

Weight: 161 lbs (73 kg)
Length: 6'00" (183 cm)

So I'm really in doubt here. I don't want the 150 because I think it will feel like a 160 board, and the 146 isn't that stable at higher speeds. So please advice me which board to buy :unsure:

Background details: I'm 23 and I've been riding for about 10 years. I visit the indoor slope a few times a year and I go on a one week snow trip to France with friends each year. I ride all-mountain with friends and I like to have fun on the slope (buttering, flat tricks) and in the park (jibbing, jumps), which is why I think the nug is excellent.

See less See more
#2 ·
If it will be your ONLY board then I personnally would lean to the 150, however if you still have your 156 then i would get the 146.

Based on what you wrote though you want the 146.

The raduction boards dont "feel" like bigger boards, they feel small. They just ride bigger (float, effective edge)

ANyhow based on evrything you wrote I would go with the 146 and ride the custom on days when I am trying to go really fast.

#5 · (Edited)
Thanks guys, helpful advice here. I'll be keeping my Custom. And I'll probably buy the Nug 146 for the full effect.