Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

Boots fit

2K views 8 replies 9 participants last post by  sb60 
#1 ·
Complete newbie here...

Only been riding 10 times, but 3 times with each 3.5 hours private lessons in the morning so i'm getting good fast! Amazing how in one hour with a private teacher, I progress more than an entire day riding alone.

My setup is: Carbon Credit 159cm board, bindings are Burton Cartel. Boots are an unknown kind, they where a gift from my cousin.

Here's my question : How tight are your feets in your boots?

This question came to my mind when I noticed the following fact :
They are super comfortable, but when i'm putting a lot of pressure on my toe edge, my heels are lifted up and are not in contact anymore with the sole in my boots. I would say that the distance between my heel and the sole would be 1cm... Is that normal?

They are regular laced and sometimes I have a hard time to get them super tight.

They are 10's, all of my shoes are 10's...

See less See more
#2 ·
Heel lift is a bad thing. From what I've seen, people go at least half a size down from their regular shoe size when getting snowboard boots. Different manufacturers seem to have wildly different sizing schemes. I can't recommend specific boots, because I'm hardly experienced and I'm a girl on top of that (know nothing about guys' boots ^^).

So, like I said, I'm a newbie myself (2nd season now, but will consider myself that for many years to come). Welcome to the addiction! :D

#3 ·
I would say your boots are too big.

I wear a 9 1/2 shoe, I measure a 9, and wear a size 8. Now, understand I've been riding longer than you, so I demand a tighter fit.

"Simple" Fit test:
First- Put on your boots and lace them up like you would to go riding. Then stand tall, feet flat on the ground and lock your knees.
Do your toes touch the front of the boot?
Your toes should push or curl in the front of the boot.
If not your boot might be to big.