Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

Introduce yourself

2M views 4K replies 2K participants last post by  ctoma 
#1 ·
I will start this thread.

I am 24 years old, live in Toronto Canada.

I grew up in Regina, Saskatchewan (where there is a ton of snow) so naturally i have gone both skiing and snowboarding.

I'm still a beginner snowboarder, but hope to learn lots at Snowboarding Forum :D

#2,318 ·
Awesome forum. Learning a lot. I'm 48 and have been boarding for three years. When I wanted to teach my son to ski, he said, "that's for old dudes." I didn't want to be "the old dude" so we both took snowboarding lessons. We get out about 10 times a year, mostly in the Poconos. Thanks for all the great info.

#2,323 ·
Hi Diane, welcome to snowboarding. I'm guessing you're taking lessons in one of the snow domes? Have you got a trip to the alps planned? If so you're doing the right thing getting those first extremely frustrating few days out of the way but you just wait till you see some proper mountains. It will take your breath away.

#2,326 ·
Hello All,

Glad to see there are lots of old dudes on this forum. This really does seem to be a young person's game (unless one takes ibuprofen prophylactically). I'm 44 years-old and started snowboarding at 43. Mainly I am trying to learn because my kids ride. I tried skiing (since my husband skis) and really didn't like it. Snowboarding seems a lot more fun to me. I'm trying to keep up with my 10 and 8 year-old sons who are picking up the tricks very quickly. I would just like to be able to accompany them up the mountain and not die on the way down.

My son wants to go to snow"boarding" school. I have another thread out there about whether or not that is a good idea since we live on the east coast no where near mountains. We do live near the ocean, but not the one that is good for surfing.

#2,327 ·
Name is Tyler - I am 30 now. Been boarding for about 15 years and skiing about 10 years prior to that.