Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

Centered&Set back question

5K views 31 replies 11 participants last post by  ETM 
#1 ·
Hi experts!
I'm getting a new board but I'm new to snowboards. Will I be able to have my bindings centred on a set back stance board??
Thanks in advance

#4 ·
It's directional twin.
This board actually:
http://thegoodride.com/snowboard-reviews/k2-bright-lite-review-and-buying-advice/
And I'm only 5"1 and getting this is size 138cm. Do you think it'll be possible to set the bindings centred?

Thanks in advance

#7 ·
Hmnnn,.. This thread confuses me. I myself would definitely defer to Argo & ETM as experienced "experts," but I'm a little confused about their opinion/advice concerning going ahead and riding with a centered stance on a set-back, directional twin?? :dunno:

I have a directional twin board. I tried to center the stance early on when I was first learning. I found it to be un-ridable like that. A board with a setback is usually designed to be ridden like that. Centering the stance changes the entire riding characteristics of the deck,.. No?

...also, Here's the link to the board you're considering. ...I believe that around here anyway, "The Good Ride" is Not considered particularly accurate or un-biased when it comes to rating a boards true performance! (...am I mistaken about The Good Ride's reputation for reviews & objectivity?)

You might want to check other sites to get a more objective review of that board & it's specs.

I will be interested to read the feedback on this myself! :thumbsup:

#8 ·
I have a directional twin board. I tried to center the stance early on when I was first learning. I found it to be un-ridable like that. A board with a setback is usually designed to be ridden like that. Centering the stance changes the entire riding characteristics of the deck,.. No?