Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

Burton clash vs nitro prime propaganda

5K views 12 replies 5 participants last post by  neni 
#1 ·
Hi everyone, I'm from Argentina and I ride in bariloche. I snowboarded for ten days over the last 2 years and now i want my own equipment.

I am a beginner, and I can't link more than 2 or 3 turns.
I'm 6"3 and 220. Boot 12 US.
My only options are 2014 burton clash 164w or 2013 nitro prime proganda. New.

Burton is about 300 dollars more, and I have the money. But will I feel any difference? Will I ride better, or learn faster. Will I notice it?

Hope you can help me decide! Thank you so much!

#3 ·
Burton clash is a rocker profile and soft, nitro is medium and camber. First few days would be easier on burton but I dont see how this entry level burton board could be so much more expensive... In usa it is 350$ without discount. 11 times out of 10 I would pick Nitro over Burton.

#5 ·

this is also very good for first days, but would you ride it after you know a little how to ride? Burton clash is maybe the cheapest burton on market, shity base, soft, excellent for first days on good conditions, but it should be rented, not bought :)

#7 ·
If you get to ride good conditions at Bariloche, try and find a Buston Custom Flying V.

Mid flex, decently forgiving, floats very nice and yet holds the edge in so-so conditions pretty well. Check the board specs for your weight and riding preference.

Other than that, there's a lot of better options than the Clash.

#11 ·
Looks like a good choice. Not worth to pay $300more for a Clash. More like $150... total.

That said, be ready to get whipped the first few tries. If you're used to softer boards with rocker, this will be a noticeable difference. But in the end you'll be better.

A ver quien gana mañana :)))

#13 · (Edited)