Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

"Advanced" Board for a Beginner?

4K views 11 replies 5 participants last post by  rasmasyean 
G
#1 ·
Hi. First thread. Please be gentle.

I'm 42 yrs old and just started snowboarding mainly because my kids are getting into it. I've been out twice on rentals and loved it. So I bought myself a new board, bindings, and boots... online.

Problem is, reviews say its an "advanced board" and me being a beginner, I'm wondering if I bought the wrong board now (I haven't used it yet).

Is there anything wrong with a beginner buying an "advanced" board? Will it be too squirrly/fast/aggressive or does the term "advanced" refer more to the quality/materials/price of the board?

Thanks for the help... looking forward to learning more from this forum.

G
#5 · (Edited)
It's a 159cm Rossignol Premier (not sure the year). I'm 6'-0" & 210 lbs.
I'll be going to local 'hills' in Wisconsin. Mostly groomed, a lot of man-made snow, pretty icy.
Not really interested in speed per-se. Of the two times I've gone, I like spinning around, using all the hill, going side to side (Not sure the 'lingo'). I won't be going into the terrain park any time soon.
Thanks.

#4 ·
Its fine, just a diffent set of challenges. I started at 44, at 46 bought an expert level board, it took me for the ride for about 1.5 years...then figured out how to keep ahead of the thing and now at 51 can really take advantage of its performance. The thing about an expert level board is its designed to do something very well if you have the skills...if either you lack the skills or use the board for something it was not designed for, it can be punishing. The advantage, is that it forces you to develope some good skills.

#8 · (Edited)
From a quick investigation, that looks like a narrow stiff board. 2 features that are bad for beginners.
Stiff =harder to control at low speeds and not very forgiving. Easy to catch and slam.