Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

Forum Grudge vs Lib Tech Skate Banana

4K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  rolling_stoned 
G
#1 ·
Hi guys, someone help me out please:

Looking at the Lib Tech Skate Banana and the Forum Grudge snowboards:

I like the fact that the Skate Banana has magnetraction, and hear great things about stopping easily on ice (I'm on the eastern NY icy snow). I also hear great things about Forum's Grudge for insane speed.

I am not experienced in the park (I can jump a 10-foot I guess.. but I only started jumps at the end of the season).. However, I can easily tackle double-blacks for breakfast, and go full speed over moguls without falling on a snowboard. I pride myself on speed, but would like to learn to jump. Speed is my drug, and that's my priority.

I'm male, 180 (but plan to lose 10 pounds this summer), 5'11, and have size 12 1/2 feet. Just some background info. I ride reg, but want a board that rides the same both ways.

My range is $400/below, so if you have any other board suggestions, offer them up!

Anyways, sizing wasn't really my question.. My question is, is the magnetraction on the Skate Banana worth getting that board over the risk of less stability at high speeds? I also see the Skate Banana is ranked one higher than the Grudge in top boards.

Sooooo help me please! I'm not a fan of "insane graphics" btw.

Thanks

See less See more
#2 ·
Well, considering the skate banana is a purely park board (and not built for double blacks whatsoever), my first instinct is to steer you closer to a more all-mountain board, which can handle both park and pow. I don't know much about the grunge, but it seems a little more sturdy for that (while still being more of a freeride board)

I'd say keep looking in the all-mountain category, to be honest.

#5 ·