Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums - View Single Post - Foot Pain
Thread: Foot Pain
View Single Post
Old 08-23-2010, 09:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
I need a name
Veteran Member
Default Foot Pain

I haven't been around here in a while...

I posted a thread a while back about having pain on the ball of my foot and got many suggestions that I tried, but didn't have any luck with. I've been boarding for 8+ years and the past two have possibly been my least favorite as my feet hurt to the point where I can't finish a run without stopping. It's not the fit of my boots, i've been through many pairs. High and low end.

I have fairly wide, semi-flat feet.

Here's a list of some of the things that I have tried:
-Many different boots.
At least about 8 different pairs, all of them fit perfectly. Just to name a couple of them- Malamutes, Driver's, 32's, F22's, F4's, Libertine's, and various k2's. It seems as if the standard lacing worked best, BOA seemed to worsen the pain.

-Heel Lift's
I've given these a small test in every pair of boots that i've had. Didn't do anything in any of them

Used in every boot that had any heel movement.

I've tried almost everything when it comes to inserts. Superfeet, Sole, Zap's, SoftSole, And a couple various other ones. The Superfeet helped a small amount, but the pain was still unbearable. I haven't used custom orthotics yet, but I plan on it this year.

I've used multiple bindings such as 390's, targas, K2's, Cartels, and Nrc's. The footbed canting on the Nrc's seemed to make the biggest improvement over anything else I have tried. The pain is still there, just not quite as bad as it is with standard bindings without the canting.

I've tried almost every stance possible. Forward, duck, wide, narrow, etc. They all feel the same, but I tend to use a wide ducked out stance.