Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

splitboard size recommendation?

20K views 18 replies 8 participants last post by  rideonwhistler 
#1 ·
So Im interested in picking up a Venture Euphoria splitboard in a 166, it has 2.5mm setback and 20mm taper. Im about 5'10" 190, my regular boards are usually 158-160. Will a 166 be too long? My terrain will be primarily PNW cascades and Utah Wasatch mountains, this is my first year splitboard too.

Thanks.

#2 ·
This is rockered right? Normally I'd say you are fine with a traditional cambered board, but in this case it might be a little big. With your weight it's not an unreasonable choice. Especially if you are getting a good deal on it. Venture is making some pretty fine stuff these days. Definitely one of the elite splitboard makers imo. Neversummer being the other.

The wisdom with rocker is that you actually want to size down a little. The wisdom with a backcountry stick is you want to size up 4-6cm's. So what that boils down to me is that is you are already on an alternative camber board for your normal ride, you can size it up. If you are riding a regular camber board, getting the same size rockered split as your resort stick is probably the way to go. This is a rule of thumb. If you feel like you can handle the 166, I'd say go for it. It's going to float like none other.

If it's not rockered, then don't think, just pull the trigger if you want it.

#3 · (Edited)
killclimbz, whats your thoughts on bindings? Right now I have a set of Karakorams pre-ordered, but being as this is my first season and they are still new in the binding business I think I may just get some cheaper, right now Im looking at Voile Light Rail bindings, Ive been reading on them on the sb.com forums and it seems to have mixed feelings on them.

But it also seems to be that buying bindings seems pretty important, they are the interface and take a lot of abuse, and the Karakorams look to be built really well also.