Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

What is important, the size of the board or the weight limitation of the board?

9K views 13 replies 11 participants last post by  GeoFX 
#1 ·
Well after much reading and researching on this forum and any forums that has info about the products, I just read myself in to more confusion. What is the most important aspect in choosing a board, the size of the board or the weight limitation of the board? I am a beginner hopefully moving into an intermediate level. I currently ride a Flow Merc 151 all mountain directional board, flex rating is 2 out of 5. I am 5’4”, 156lbs, stance width 18”, with an inseam of 29, mostly stay on Green and Easy Blue groom runs. With my size, it seems that a good size for me would be 148cm-150cm size board, but some boards on the 148 size range has a weight limit of 140 pounds which I exceed. I am looking for a board that is stable at speed and all around good board for different conditions from light power to ice. I don’t do too much park, but I will do easy 2 – 4 foot jumps. I narrowed my choices to the fallowing boards.

Rome Agent Rocker in 151 – maybe to big for me?

Salomon Drift Rocker in 148 – I exceed the weight limit (140lbs.) for the board.

Capita Horrorscope FK 147 or 149

K2 WWW 148

Forum Destroyer 148 with Chilly Dog.
Forum Youngblood 148 with Chilly Dog

Ride Machete 152 – this is the smallest size they make. Is it to big for me?

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
I'd put you on a 155/158.

Also, I wouldn't be looking at super flexible boards, if you're not very interested in butters / rails. They will chatter at speed and will not hole an edge well.

You should be getting a med-stiff board, something targeted more at All Mountain / Big Mountain.

I'm not familiar with many of those boards but WWW I know is a noodle. And any board will be too soft if you're in the upper end of the weight range for it.

Machete 155 would be okay but 158 would be better.

#3 ·