Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

What do you think happended?

2K views 17 replies 13 participants last post by  StarCommand 
#1 ·
i was at my local mountain today, i live in NY we had about 6 inches of power dumped overnight,so i went for some nice powder riding. after awhile i went to the terrain park. I was the first one their. the usual kicker i hit is a 15 or so footer. but because of the powder is was a little less then that. I am not a pro at snowboarding.I can do the jumps fine. i can even throw 180s and such. but i hit the jump and got a lot more air then i expected. landed fine but took a lot of impact to my knees. but today my back hurts. i was snowboarding for around 12 hours yesterday. my back is never sore after a long day of riding. but today it hurts to move. Mind you i am kind of chubby, sitting at around 160, and i am about 5'8. So i am not the skinniest person on the mountain. i just don't know what happened that would make my back hurt today.

Oh, btw i am new here. My names Chris and i am 15.i am from NY.

#6 ·
If your knees didn't bend do to your surprise on the immediate change of situation IE: big height, you could have jared a vertibrae like described. Even though there was fresh powder 6" isn't much and if base was icy that would not help to absorb your impact.
This happened to me this year but not as bad. I could tell right away, I knew I didn't absorb with my knees and I felt the jolt through my back. I stopped jumping that day.

#9 ·
I completely cleared a landing of a large angle jump on skis over 20 years ago, ever since then my back hurt now and again when I'm not active and go do something active. Now it's to the point that when I bend down and do something like vacuum the floor or wash the car, I have to arch my back bend at the hips THEN straighten my back like I'm 80. I compressed my spine and have arthritis in my lower back because of this.