Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

Board lengths

5K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  bobsy852 
#1 · (Edited)
'12 DC Ply or DC Tone?

Sorry if regular readers read this every day or so, but I'm struggling a bit with this one, so as a newbie I ask you please bare with me...

I'm looking for my first snowboard but waiting untill 2012 gear is released (in particular DC's range of boards) now I've been looking at the boards they're set to release and REALLY like the DC Ply Horgmo Pro board. Or the Bittner, but would prefer the Horgmo!

Now my concern is that this board will be too small for me at 150.5cm?

Now obviously you'll need some stats about me to be able to tell:

Height: 5ft 10in
Weight: 12.5 - 13 stone (roughly 79/80kg)
Boot size: 9

Riding experience:
Took up snowboarding in January this year, and had my first holiday in March where I feel my confidence and abilities improved a lot. Have since been going at least once a month to my local indoor snow dome in the UK, and am really really eager to start some freestyle, so will probably book a freestyle lesson in the months to come.

Now I'd like a board which can do some freetsyle, and will help me advance with this, but one which will also be pretty good for piste runs when I get away fro the few times a year I will!

And before anyone tells me to look at another brand, I'm sorry but everything I've bought so far is DC and I kinda plan on keeping it that way! lol

So would this board be too small for me? As 150.5cm comes to just about my neck height/collar area?
Would I be better suited with a Bittner at 156.5cm?
I'd love to try and test the boards but at this moment in time there aren't any DC stores in the UK, never mind in the snow domes! There is one set to open some time this year which I'm hoping to visit which may let me try them, I just hope it opens as planned!

For now though, any advice as to which would be better for me would help! And it'd be much appreciated!!