Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums - View Single Post - Review: 2011 K2 Turbo Dream 157W
View Single Post
Old 10-17-2011, 12:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
ShredTaos

Default Review: 2011 K2 Turbo Dream 157W

Let me start by saying my experience and where I usually ride. I'm local to Taos NM, so that is "my" mountain. Ive been riding for 4 previous seasons (this will be my 5th). Ive been getting progressively more into snowboarding and putting in more days each year. I'm no pro by any means, but not a noob either, if I had to put myself in a group I would consider myself an advanced rider. First year I went maybe 15 days, 2nd year, 30-35 days, 3rd year about 50 days, and 4th year(last year) was my first year as an instructor and I rode about 85+ days, whatever 4 days a week equaled out to. Now the terrain I ride would have to be something like 30%groomer, 30%bumps, 25% hikable, 15% park. Or something along those lines.

Ive been riding a traditional camber board until now, first I learned on a cheap pos airwalk board 155, my first year. Then I moved onto a Ride Yukon 160 (which I loved), and that board lasted me 2 seasons. Last year I rode a sierra Crew 159w which rode out alright, but its a little stiff and not very playful. Also I completely destroyed the board in 1 season, it was probably close to a 90 day season so I guess thats almost expected for such a cheap board(i got it when they were 70% off for around $150, and would recommend it for that price, but not any higher). The top sheet cracked in half along the nose of the board, and the edge looks like a squiggly line now. It would be dangerous to keep riding it.

Now onto the review.

I just rode wolf creek this last weekend and I must say I really love this board so far. Let me start of with its basics.