Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

My review: Rome Targas

2K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  Augie09 
G
#1 ·
So a lot of people want to know more about these bindings, and I've also have some PMs about them. Well, since I was lucky enough to get them cheap on eBay, I couldn't pass them up. As it is, I'm a beginner bordering on intermediate, and this IS my first board setup, and hence, my first set of bindings (after dealing with rental crap).

I was in Revelstoke Mountain Resort (AWESOME) for 3 days of riding last week, and it was my first time with my board, boots, and bindings, so it's hard to tease out just the info on the bindings. But as time went on, I could get a better feel for what the Targas were contributing. And now, since I just got back from a boarding day in Whistler, I have an even better understanding of the bindings.

In short: they're awesome. Before even using them, I had adjusted them for my boot size. I had a lot of trouble getting my lead foot situated comfortably in the binding all through my Revelstoke trip... I just kept having the pinky toe "excluded" from being bound, and I couldn't figure out why! I was also having issues with the flex... finding it was too flexy and not responding to my attempts to turn fast enough. Well... now I get it. I went back through the manual, and I get understand the customization options now. I didn't know the toe straps could be adjusted by pulling UP on the tabs, then sliding them forward or back, then pushing them back down. That solved the toe problem. And the flex? Well, I took out the flex pads that were in the bindings, and replaced them with the stiffer flex pads that come in the box.... and BOOM! Much better lead foot control now when commanding a turn. It's like modding my car's suspension so that it responds JUST how I want it to, with little to no loss of feedback.