Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums - View Single Post - I Am Completely Lost
View Single Post
Old 01-09-2012, 08:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Butterscotch

Default I Am Completely Lost

First of all, this is under my fiance's user name so I don't want to make it seem like he's the noob having all of these problems. But on to the trouble I've been having:

I am a beginner to snowboarding as this is my first season. I have all of the basics pretty well nailed down; I can go switch, ride heel side and toe side, stop without fail, can intermediately carve on heel/toe side and have no trouble with navigating around people in immediate situations. What I am having trouble with is finding that point to turn from heel side to toe side(vice versa) while carrying speed. And I do mean ANY speed whatsoever. It feels like I'm reducing myself to pretty much stopping and guiding the board around with my front foot and then slowly leaning onto the transitioning side.

I've gone snowboarding about 6 or 7 times now and yes, that's not really enough time to start complaining, but I really am stuck and have tried literally everything, even not thinking about it. It seems like one of my biggest problems is that I'll get a decent speed going across the mountain and go to transition back across and as soon as I start getting my board pointed downwind, it picks up immense speed. I know I had an issue with leaning on my back foot too much in which case I wouldn't be able to turn the board at all, but that isn't the case now. I can get the board turned just fine but I'll begin turning the board, and lowering my edge to prepare for the transition and as soon as I do, I catch my other edge or I just shoot off like a rocket down the hill.