Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

Advice on taking a 180 to a jump

4K views 24 replies 8 participants last post by  slyder 
#1 ·
Recently I've been trying to land a bs 180 on a 10' jump at my hill and I keep sketching out on the takeoff and not getting any rotation. :confused: The lip on the jump is really sharp and its hard to get a rotation going on it.

I've been riding for about 5 or 6 years now but mostly free riding and I've just started getting into freestyle this year. I'm 5'8" 135 pounds and ride regular. My 180 are on lock on side hits and rollers but I just can't get them on this jump. :mad:

Any help given is appreciated thanks for reading my post.

#2 ·
Make sure you are doing a set up turn. When you are approaching the lip do a heel side turn and as you begin to travel up the lip do a toe side turn and take off straight but still from your edge. This will help your rotation. Since 180 is such a small spin you wont need to pre wind. Pop off both feet and let the rotation come naturally and calmly. The way I spot the landing on my back 1's is by looking up hill until I see the knuckle pass under me. Bend your knees as you land and look forward and ride away switch.

#10 ·
What generally happens is when you take these 180`s to an actual park feature, you over think it as a result of anxiety. This is common and I think at some point we all did this. You are already doing 180`s off of natural hits so just relax and don`t over think them on the 10 foot table.
That's me to a tee :laugh:

#21 ·
Donutz, so your board landed perpendicular to the landing ramp and you face planted. Or you literally corked a bit and landed on your face???
Either way ouch, I was gonna get out today but started feeling under the weather....so stayed home and watched a crappy Packer game...

#22 ·