#1 · (Edited)
Bataleon Whatever 156 Review.

Equipment stats:
Board: 2012 Bataleon Whatever 156
Bindings: 2010 K2-CINCH CTX
Boots: 2010 Burton Driver X
Stance: 21.5", angles: 18/0
Wax: Warm DaKine
Conditions: Knee deep slashed powder, some stashes of untracked powder.

My stats:
Height: 5'10
Weight: 146~
Regular
Years riding: 6
Board: Arbor A-Frame 158
Average days per season: 25

Skill: advanced rider, mostly free ride/pow/carve. No park.

Board details: Bataleon ::

WiredSport.com gave me a chance to test this board. Thanks Randy!

Background: I have been riding now for 6 years. 4 of them in Kirkwood. I started on an old LibTech 155 (mid '90 model, Red with a violin key design on top, unknown model), then moved to a Ride Control 155, and finally my Arbor A-Frame 158. The Whatever was the first “TBT” board I ever ridden and I loved it.

I spent my day riding my Arbor A-Frame 158 on slashed knee deep powder yesterday at Kirkwood. Got some fantastic runs and around 1PM I decided to switch to the Whatever and see what the TBT was about. Conditions were great. Up to knee deep light powder, slashed and untraced, wind slab powder. Maybe 100 people in the whole resort.

My mindset: Ok I will switch to this playful short park like board and it will wash all over. Nothing like my razor sharp carving machine A-Frame. I want to find what all the fuss about non camber board is…if this TBT works, It will never hold an edge like regular camber, it will feel like a skateboard.. too playful…a flexy park board.. Man I was wrong

The Whatever feels light and nimble. I love the blunt nose and tail shape, I thought as I was riding the chairlift. Upon getting off I could feel there was something different under my feet. Lighter and very responsive. I stopped on the usual bank, pulled the lever on my back binding and took off.