Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

Snowboarder dies in tree well at whistler (in bounds)

4K views 22 replies 10 participants last post by  ThunderChunky 
#1 ·
#7 ·
An Avalung is meant to be worn on out the outside of you jacket. Also, how do you propose to unzip your jacket, get the mouthpiece out, and put it in while you are upside down in a tree well? At best your movement is going to be restricted considerably. If you don't get the Avalung in your mouth within the first few seconds on falling in, you are probably not going to be able to with the snow collapsing around you, tree branches blocking your movement, and such. Now add in trying to unzip a jacket to the equation...

#9 ·
I'm no expert, but I would imagine a whistle, phone, possibly beacon or having a buddy with you are about the only things you can do after you're already in there. In avalung wouldn't do much anyway. You're basically just delaying the inevitable. Granted someone could stumble upon you, but I wouldn't rely on that. Cell phone has the same problem as the avalung though so...:dunno:

#12 ·
Avalung should be at the ready (out, high and close enough that you can easily bite it) or in your mouth already. Of course, there are no guarantees - it can be knocked out in the fall...

There is long vid of a person falling in a tree well and being able to use cell phone to call wife, who then alerted patrol. He was rescued, but again, there are no guarantees that you'd be able to use your cell phone.

Tree pow is so enticing, yet can turn so deadly :mad:

#13 ·