Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

my first knee pain!

8K views 12 replies 10 participants last post by  grafta 
#1 ·
these sorts of threads probably pop up on here all the time; SO HERE'S ANOTHER ONE!!!! :cheeky4:

i'll start off with my details:

goofy, duck stance (-12/+12)
6'3" 190lbs
pain in what feels like the lateral collateral ligament of my right knee

i've been riding for about 4 years, this is just coming on at the start of my second full season. never had any knee problems before now, on the day it started i had spent most of the morning practicing switch riding and doing nose butters off my right foot. i can still ride and turn normallly, it's just when i lean into the nose press and twist off the heel side to butter i get pain in the outside of the knee and a feeling like its going to buckle.

i am hoping that it's just my knee not really liking this new thing it's doing and that it will toughen up with repeated practice. has anyone else had a similar problem before?

#3 ·
Is the pain happening you're riding switch? Or is it happening when you're riding normal and switch? If it's when you're riding switch, your left knee probably isn't used to the wear and tear of being the front foot. If it's happening when you're riding normal too, ice packzz dat sh1t and idk what to say

#7 ·
no pain when riding switch or normal, only in the right knee when loading the nose in for a butter.

thanks for the rest of the replies folks, i realise none (probably) of you are medical professionals but it's good all the same to hear alternative ideas and remedies.

i think its most likely a strain from going too hard, hopefully if i take it easy for the next few days out it'll come good again. :thumbsup:

#5 ·
jp has a point. None of us are doctors (well, some may be, but they won't be giving free advice in this venue). But there are knee injuries and there are knee strains and there are knee pains. You should be able to tell which you have.