Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

New board for an old timer

1K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  snowklinger 
#1 ·
Hey all,

It's been a very long time since I bought a board, but now, finally, I think it's about that time :) I have to say, I'm a bit perplexed with it all. I'm kind of up on the rocker stuff. Kind of. I just tried a 2013 K2 HappyHour and that was totally flat! Was amazing. I nearly bought it on the spot. But then someone told me they're rubbish in slush… I don't know, I'm clearly behind the times… And if I'm not careful, I could end-up buying something I regret. So, yeah, I'm in need of help, there are brands I've never heard of, and the local board shops here just seem to want to push the brands that suit them…

So my riding is firmly all mountain. I've been riding for 15 years, but only 15 days a year-ish. I like to ride hard and fast, big carves, and living in New Zealand, I have a lot of steep ice to contend with. So whatever I get, it needs to hold really well at very high-speed in all conditions. But I also love to play around on the hill, jibbing, buttering and spinning about. I'm pretty sure that I'd like some rocker, but not 100%. I do want something that I can press easily, and something that will spin well.

I hardly ever go in the park, certainly never hit rails, and never likely to. But I do like to pop sizable ollies off natural features and you never know, maybe I'll hit some park booters, I wouldn't want to rule it out.

My current board will be able to handle the pow, I'm looking for a board that can keep me stoked in-between dumps.

I'm 6ft 1in, 185 lbs. I normally ride a 162, but the 157 K2 I rode was amazing in terms of edge hold. I'd happily ride the shortest board I can get away with provided it will hold on our bullet-proof ice.

And I'm on a budget - I might have to try to find a 2011/2012 board.