Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

Unweight board on kink??

3K views 13 replies 10 participants last post by  Thad Osprey 
#1 ·
Boardslides??
Ok I'm studying my training videos and watching lots of fellow riders to study their movements.

I"m gonna try some boardslides this year. I have 50/50 kinks and have done some boardslides on straight boxes.
When boardsliding a kink do you unweight your board just prior to hitting the kink?
I would think so but I have never heard it discussed. It's always just keep your base flat and adjust your body to stay perpendicular to the feature.

Hoping to nail this down this season.

#6 ·
This is something that interests me as well, as one of my goals for the season is to be able to boardslide rails. All of my friends bitch out saying that rails are way too hard and slippery. Is there anything I should expect, or anything I can do to prep myself for a rail?

I quoted the above because it also brought up another question with detuning because apparently I never detuned my new board, and learned everything from carving to hitting jibs on non detuned edges. Does it make that big of a difference, if so should I also detune my newish Attack Banana since it has magnetraction?

#8 ·
its always scary to go fast, but the faster you go (within reason) the easier it will be as you'll have more forward momentum and less downward mo...

try hitting your flatbox or flat rail or down rail as fast as you comfortably can, or at least try to step up the speed on those smaller features so you can take it to the kink with more speed... the more you're traveling forward the less impact you'll have onto the rail, onto the kink...

#9 ·
Truth here!