Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

Outerwear Help Please

3K views 14 replies 12 participants last post by  almostheaven 
#1 ·
Hey guys,

Need pants, jacket and gloves. Looking around all day and completely at a loss. :dunno: Read the outerwear guide and I think I understand about the waterproof/breathability stuff. Yet I don't know the numbers I should look for.

I plan to ride basically evrything from local Ontario groomers to Rockies in Alberta to the resorts in BC. Should I be looking for something like 10k/10k? 15k/15k? GORE-TEX? I'm not a pro rider, I'm a couple of seasons in and am reasonably comfortable on a board. I want to ride more and improve.

Also, what are some go-to brands for outerwear? I seem to gravitate toward Burton and Volcom. Are these good choices? What are some other good ones?

Thank you very much. You'll be helping me out lots. Cheers. :thumbsup:

#2 ·
Good question. I am trying to figure out the same thing. I have a Northface Gonzo jacket from last year but it is just ok. Doesn't seem to be very breathable. In fact, it often gets wet inside. Perhaps too many layers underneath. Anyhow, I am looking at the Burton AK line 2L goretex. I would love to hear some reviews on this particular product. I wouldn't mind getting some of their technical layers as well.

#3 · (Edited)
Anything from Arcteryx and you cant go wrong also anything with goretex pro will work great. I have alot of mountain hard wear, outdoor research, Patagonia, marmot and arcteryx. I also have some 686, special blend and bonfire for more snowboarding company gear. Find a price point and look at all the deals from last years goods and get something that will last and having goretex is a big plus. On a side note I also have TNF but they are way popular now so they make lots of low end stuff. Also the Gonzo uses HyVent from what I remember that is what they use on the low end rain gear and not it does not breath really at all.

#5 ·