Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums - View Single Post - New board/bindings thoughts
View Single Post
Old 11-05-2012, 01:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
lonerider
Veteran Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by jchaison View Post
Hi guys...yeah, another new guy looking for opinions on getting a new board.

I'm 5'9", 190 lbs, size 9.5 boot. I ride in the Pacific Northwest (Washington state and Whistler a lot) with an annual trip elsewhere (Colorado, Montana, Tahoe, etc). I've been boarding for 9 years (maybe 15-20 days a season) and consider myself Advanced. I do NOT ride the park...mostly carving on groomers and off into the trees looking for powder (which sucks on my K2 Disciple 155).

After some research and chatting with people at the shops, I've narrowed it down to:

-Gnu Rider's Choice 157.5
-LibTech TRS 159
-NS Proto CT 157 or 160
-NS Heritage 158 or 160

Like I said...basically no need for anything beneficial in the park...just something that will give me the response and control to take it to the next level.

Also...any recommendations on bidnings? I got some Ride Insano boots and am tempted by the Flow NX2-SEs, but still skeptical of the support/responsiveness of the rear-entry system. I am clearly not loyal to any brand but do like the idea of a toe cap.

Sorry to "clutter
" the board, but seeking informed opinions from someone not selling me stuff.

Thanks!
Wow... 190 lbs on a 155 cm board. Unless you are a park-only rider, that is much too small for freeride/powder (there may be others who disagree with me, but in my opinion they are all crappy riders who kick puppies )