Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

Did I screw up on multiple issues for this board/bindings/boots combo?

5K views 38 replies 17 participants last post by  snowklinger 
#1 ·
Hi, I'm starting to get stressed out the more I read up on snowboarding gear. :confused:

I have recently bought my own board/bindings/boots after consulting websites, reviews and whatnot with the purpose of buying stuff for beginners.

I'm 163lbs (74 kg) and 5ft6.14in (168cm). I'm all-mountain style I think? Because that's what some sites told me to go for since I'm a beginner.

My Gear:
Board: Burton Blunt (151cm)
Bindings: Ride LX Series (M)
Boots : Ride Jackson Boa Coiler (Size US 9)

I just read up on 3 things that worry me. 1st, My boots and bindings are all-mountain boots while my board is freestyle. Is that going to affect me a lot?

2nd, I don't understand flex rating. My board and bindings are flex of 3, so that's soft? My boots have a flex of 7, so that's stiff? I read a comment in this forum that say I should try to match my gear flex so that they are around the same. So did I screw up badly?

3rd, I used my chin height to get my board length. But from what I read on this forum, I should use weight instead. Is 151 cm too short?

See less See more
#2 ·
dont sweat it you'll be fine.

My middle boy has a 2010 Blunt what I didn't like about it was it's durability. That thing looks like it was chewed up and spit out. He rides exact same places and park features as me and the other boy and it didn't hold up well. Plan to wax it a lot though.

Being new I doubt you will notice anything with boots or binding. You may notice the flex and especially at higher speeds, if you get to that point in your riding.

#3 ·
i hate to break it to you, but 151 is too short for your weight. you should be at at least 154. 156 would have been your best bet. UNLESS you plan to only run in the park and jibb.