Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

Heli-boarding - Snowwater

2K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  killclimbz 
#1 ·
I posted this in the regional forum for Western Canada but wanted to also post here as I think General Chat gets a broader audience. I'm particularly interested in the opinions of guys like Killclimbz and Snowolf but welcome anyone's input.

(Mods: If cross-posting is against the rules please feel free to delete the post in the Regional forum.)

I'm in the early stage of planning a monumental "bucket list" type trip for the 2013/14 season - I want to do a 5 or 7 day heli-boarding trip. Based upon a recommendation of a coworker, I'm looking at Snowwater.

About me - 43 and a bit overweight. I've been snowboarding for 24 years now but almost exclusively in the mid-west region of the U.S. (Ohio, Pennsylvania). I have done a few trips to Colorado over the last few years to Breckenridge. I really do not know how to categorize my skill level as the majority of my experience has been on non-challenging mid-west resort terrain. Obviously on the terrain I have access to here in Ohio, I'd consider my skill level to be advanced but that is not exactly challenging terrain and there is no such thing as backcountry, chutes, bowls, or powder runs. The few trips out west I have not had any trouble at all with black diamond runs. That being said, I also did not hit any of the double-black summit terrain at Breckenridge.

I'd appreciate anyones suggestions or feedback on a variety of subjects:
  • Skill Level - Would I be getting in over my head with a guided heli-boarding trip in BC? Yes, I realize this is a horribly subjective question and almost impossible to answer from the internet but I'd be curious for those who have done this type of thing - what was your experience level before hand? Is logging resort-based powder days or having backcountry riding experience more or less important?