Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

Demo Day Options?

1K views 5 replies 6 participants last post by  bmaniga 
#1 · (Edited)
I'm a second season NooB! My local hill is holding a demo day that I plan to attend in 2 weeks. This is no Big Mountain resort, it's a fair sized mound in the Northern LP of MI. There will only be three manufacturers represented. Burton (...natch!) K2, & Rome.

I am looking to ride something in a "True Twin", I think I'd prefer to stick with a cambered or hybrid camber board, (...I don't ride park, but If time permits, I wouldn't sneer at trying some form of hybrid rocker either!) and maybe something with the new "grip tech, magna traction" etc.

I presently ride a 2010/11 Arbor Roundhouse 163W, directional twin cambered board. I have done pretty well learning to ride on this board, but if you saw my thread on "Being Ridden By the Board?" http://www.snowboardingforum.com/snowboarding-general-chat/52189-board-will-ride-you.html You'll see I may be limiting or making my progression harder by riding a board meant for a more advanced rider.

Since I am not really familiar with all the models/types of boards these 3 companies make, I was hoping I might get a few suggestions on which models to ask to tryout that might fit the criteria I mentioned earlier and fall into a more skill appropriate level for me! (...that is, if they will even have them available to try. Selection might be limited @ such a small resort.)

TIA, chomps! (...oh yeah, I'm 6ft. 220 lb. outta the shower, about 235-45 fully geared up! size 10.5 W boots.)

See less See more
#2 ·
I only know the Burton line but here's what I recommend:

Try to ride one board from each of the three camber profiles:

-regular camber, eg. shaun white board, custom, parkitect, process
-flying V e.g. custom flying V, sherlock, antler, process flying v
-rocker e.g superhero, whammy bar, blunt