Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

looking for a new beacon

5K views 27 replies 11 participants last post by  Tom Leep 
#1 ·
a lot to choose from, looking for a new digital beacon. any recommendations, and why you recommend it . looking for user info, not BS, may help others out also.

thanks

See less See more
#4 ·
I've been using the Tracker 2 the last 2 seasons. Super simple 1 switch operation. I definitely like the simplicity. Also nice that it has a very slight curvature to it, to better tuck-in against your body. I have a couple buddies that may pickup avy gear this year and join those of us that already have. Where'd you find the best deal on it Snowolf?

#5 ·
Pieps DSP for me and Snowvols

Beyond my Pieps I've used the BCA(Backcountry Access Tracker DTS Beacon) and an ancient analog beacon but almost all the patrollers I see here in Utah are using old school analogs or the digital Pieps.

I'm far from an expert other here will know more

#6 ·
Pieps is basically setting the standard these days. The DSP Tour is a less expensive option than the DSP and is basically the same thing. One difference though and this may make a difference for some. If you are like me and enjoy riding with your pooch. Pieps makes a transmit only beacon for your dog. Cody has been using it for a year now. It transmits on a different frequency than the 457 standard. The DSP can switch over to receive that beacon. That way you are not digging up your dog before your friends. All it takes is a DSP running the current software. If you don't have it, updates are quick and easy to get at a Pieps retailer. Receive range is the best in the biz for digital receivers with Pieps.

The Mammut Pulse is another very nice beacon. I've played a lot with the Ortovox 3+ and think it's also fairly nice.

The Tracker 2 is solid if bare bones.

All said, buy a three antenna digital beacon. If it's two antenna like the old tracker, move along.