Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums - View Single Post - Woes of a Noob... TLDR
View Single Post
Old 12-25-2012, 11:28 PM   #37 (permalink)
OldDog
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

OK, with all due respect I obviously need to clarify some things here.

1. I never said fuck-all about carving or dynamic riding other than the instructor was trying to make me copy him and do some "dynamic" turns before he took me up the lift. I'm sure a bunch of my "terminology" is questionable as I'm a noob, but I have no such ideas. What I wanted to try on the steeper narrower uneven sections (where there isn't room for a wide-ass noob turn) was the pivot turns from the Snow Professor vid I posted. I don't think "I've got" anything.

2. I'm not trying to skip steps or avoid practicing the basics. I did everything the instructor asked me to do. With the possible exception of sitting to strap in when I was already strapped in having done it standing. I questioned the falling leaf because I had read on here that is was not a good technique and although it can be used to get you out of a tight spot, it can also be a crutch and limit progression. Then I did it. It's not my fault the moron kept trying to make me ride switch cuz he couldn't understand that I'm not goofy.