Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums - View Single Post - New Board Problems - can too little weight be a problem?
View Single Post
Old 01-19-2013, 09:40 AM   #29 (permalink)
Bauba

I'm not an expert by any means. But I have recently been in a very similar situation. I feel your pain....It has been REALLY frustrating!! I have been boarding for 10 years (with a 3 yr break in the middle) and jut got a new board that I CAN NOT ride! Well, unless its steep and the snow conditions are perfect Having said that, I think I'm coming out the other side and I think there has been some really great advice given here. Here are a few I totally agree with!

1) Technique- If the size, length and width are right for you, it really is probably just a matter of technique. You learned to move your body to manipulate a different board. With this board that same movement isn't working any more. I would think the first thing would be to find out if there I something wrong with your technique and if its gong to be a learning curve thing or if the board just isn't a good board for you.

2) Mental barrier-Someone jokingly mentioned a mental barrier. But seriously, with my new board I found that I didnt like feeling out of control so much that I was a really timid rider on it. I didnt want to get hurt! So i went went way slow and spent all my time on much fatter terrain. I did his even though I know its MUCH harder to snowboard, initiate turns, control your board etc, when creeping along AND on flatter terrain. I actually wrecked HARD as a result. I totally had a little mental something going on because snowboarding is one of the only things I truly love in life.....and I wasnt loving it! All I knew is I did not like the way I felt on that board and I dint know why!