Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums - View Single Post - life at a resort
View Single Post
Old 01-27-2013, 02:26 AM   #29 (permalink)
WasatchMan
Veteran Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by superasiaman View Post
i live in pasadena,ca (10 minutes from downtown LA)

and mountain high is 1 hour from where im at. Its amazing, 1 hour to the snow. 45 minutes to the surf.

and if you want more powder in your sessions, bear mountain is 1 hour 45 minutes away.

and i gotta say finding cheap as hell lift tickets or season passes isnt hard in L.A..... That craigslist.

its LA so theres always work no matter what your field. (im a graphic designer) and theres tons of work in LA.

+ being able to go back home to san diego is only a bit of a trek.

cannttt beattt itt with a glass full of heroine.
Lived in Orange County for 20 years. Bear Mountain for powder!? You are joking right? Big Bear gets, what - 90 inches per season?

Bear has a fun park if you're into it - that is all. Not to mention standing in the lift line for 30 minutes for a super short run. Packs of bros talking about the upcoming ufc fight getting drunk of their ass. Most people their take one run then hit the base and pull out their tank tops because you guys have 50 degrees days for more than half the season. Worth the 2 hour drive? No. Unless you leave before noon you're looking at a 4 hour drive back to LA.

Who fucking cares that SoCal has shitty mountains and a beach within a day. The beaches at huntington constantly get shut down due to pollution, the beaches in San Clemente are full of rocks and pebbles, yes they have decent waves. SoCal is for surfers and skaters - NOT snowboarders.

Everyone all the time "Oh I can snowboard, surf and dirtbike all in the same day!! look how cool I am! I never travel I have everything I need right here!!!"

I am so fucking glad I moved away from that shit hole, god I fucking hate California. 20 years born and raised was way too fucking much.