Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

Jump on Rails

9K views 19 replies 14 participants last post by  Casual 
#1 ·
Hi guys, I've been snowboarding for a bit less than 2 months and I'm trying to learn myself some rails. The problem is, my local park, while having great beginner boxes, and I can now boardslide pretty much any box, but the hill doesn't have any ride on rails except for this 1" round rail. I'm learning to ride that, but having trouble going more than 6 ft or so on it.

I want to learn on some 3" rails, but the problem is, all of those are either jump on rails or gap rails. Do you have any tips for learning one of those?

I tried it once but lost my balance when I landed on it, and fell flat on my belly on it, knocking the breath out of me. Can anyone give me tips on balancing on things like that? Thanks!

#2 ·
I don't have any tips for the gap/jump rails except to use some speed (helps with balancing). You should build yourself a small balance bar (or purchase one) to work on your balance. The nice thing about this method is you can set it up anywhere and falling off doesn't hurt/or knock the wind out of you.

This will improve you skills and allow you to hit the full length of the rail.

#3 ·
Im not confident at all on jump on rails myself, but hitting rails after 2 months is pretty damn good progression.

I started jump on rails on one that was a angle down and not too high over the lip so i could olly straight on. The first time i tried ollying on from the side i think i nearly messed myself up falling backwards, but i managed to hold on till the very end of the rail before falling back.

#4 ·
The reason I'm able to progress a lot is because I'm homeschooled. Heck yeah.

In 2 months I've hit the hills 17 times now.

Yeah, I like the balance bar Idea. I'll try that.