Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

Canadian Rockies Condition reports

39K views 459 replies 38 participants last post by  ryannorthcott 
#1 ·
Thought I'd make a thread for sharing the local conditions similar to the Vancouver thread here.

Dec. 14th - Castle Opening Day. This is my first time here and the hill has a very laid back vibe to it. Conditions were decent for early season. Huckleberry and sundance had mixtures on powder, chuky powder, crust thru out the run. Lots of little branches sticking out.

Red chair didn't open until afternoon and it was very rocky in places. had to stick around trees for best conditions.

The bad: chairs are sloooooow, and they sway a lot.
The Ugly: T-bar pub run out of draft and pizza before noon. My food never came :blowup:

Dec.15th - Fernie

Great conditions - untouched powder can be found in currie/cedar/siberia. Epic conditions up on top of mountain. untouched pow and sparse trees.

Good mixture of soft snow and groomers across the board. Many tree areas in lower elevations are closed off to conserve base. Tons of branches are sticking out. The last sections of groomers before base is riddled with tiny rocks. Slightly annoying.

I think it definitely has the best conditions compared to (LL, SSV, KH, Castle) can't comment on Revy but I'll be there next weekend.

See less See more
#155 ·
I'm still heading to the Lake Friday and Saturday for this competition. Supposed to be flurries until then, brief break in the sky on Friday, then snow again for the foreseeable future after that!!! :yahoo:

Gotta love our winters. January was warm and dry, but the groomers were still in good shape, Feb came in quiet then had good snow, now it's snow snow snow in the forecasts!

#158 ·
I'm still heading to the Lake Friday and Saturday for this competition. Supposed to be flurries until then, brief break in the sky on Friday, then snow again for the foreseeable future after that!!! :yahoo: