Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

Canadian Rockies Condition reports

39K views 459 replies 38 participants last post by  ryannorthcott 
#1 ·
Thought I'd make a thread for sharing the local conditions similar to the Vancouver thread here.

Dec. 14th - Castle Opening Day. This is my first time here and the hill has a very laid back vibe to it. Conditions were decent for early season. Huckleberry and sundance had mixtures on powder, chuky powder, crust thru out the run. Lots of little branches sticking out.

Red chair didn't open until afternoon and it was very rocky in places. had to stick around trees for best conditions.

The bad: chairs are sloooooow, and they sway a lot.
The Ugly: T-bar pub run out of draft and pizza before noon. My food never came :blowup:

Dec.15th - Fernie

Great conditions - untouched powder can be found in currie/cedar/siberia. Epic conditions up on top of mountain. untouched pow and sparse trees.

Good mixture of soft snow and groomers across the board. Many tree areas in lower elevations are closed off to conserve base. Tons of branches are sticking out. The last sections of groomers before base is riddled with tiny rocks. Slightly annoying.

I think it definitely has the best conditions compared to (LL, SSV, KH, Castle) can't comment on Revy but I'll be there next weekend.

See less See more
#277 ·
thinking of going to Nakiska on Saturday, has anyone been out there recently? Forecast says that its getting warm through the day, or is that just Kananaskis and not the hill?
I had friends there last Sunday (5 days ago) and they said it was icy, but they're not regular boarders. They're calling for a high of about 1 on Saturday, so if it is frozen in the morning, it might thaw out a bit by early afternoon. I was at Nakiska in mid-April last year and had a good time. I'll be there Sunday for an event no matter what the conditions are like!