Beginner in need of some help. - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2008, 09:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
etniesbmx1

Default Beginner in need of some help.

Hey guys. I'm fairly new to snowboarding, I've probably been like 5-6 times in a span of 3 years. Each time I've went I had a blast, but I just don't really get out to the hill enough. I'm thinking that if I were to buy my own board then that would motivate me to get out a little more haha.

Basically I have no clue what to even look for. Boots, bindings, board, etc. Haha I'm about 5'10-5'11 and I weigh 140lbs,and I have a size 12 shoe so I'm not sure if I'd need a wider board or what haha. Any help would seriously be appreciated guys, and gals!

Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-14-2008, 09:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
alf

I'll throw in a couple cents..

If you end up with size 12 boots (you might not -- lots of people wear regular shoes bigger than the proper fit for boots) then you're looking at wide boards. Or at least "mid-wide". At 140lb, you probably want the smallest of whatever sizes are offered for a wide board. That's usually 155cm give or take 1.

Figure out your boots first! If it turns out that you have to spend a lot for a pair that's comfortable, then you know to spend less on the board/bindings. You're going to notice comfy, good fitting (equals better control) boots more than you'll notice the other gear. Remember that the padding will compress after a while, so they should be pretty snug when you're buying them.

Somebody else will comment on beginner boards -- I don't really know what to recommend there..

edit: Oh yeah, if you buy from a shop, make sure they take your weight into consideration when they tell you what size board to get. If they just look at your height, they're gonna give you one that's too big