Complete Noob Here - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2013, 02:16 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Complete Noob Here

Howddy folks!

Figured I'd throw myself out there this winter and try something new, so my buddy and I are going to start boarding!
My biggest question on getting started (past boots) is what type of board should I get as a complete beginner? Going off charts and everything else I've looked into (minimally) I'd fit between a 155-160 long. I have a pair of sz 10 Burton Jet boots (not sure how relevant that may or may not be.) I figure that if I go at least 5 times this year as a minimum, I'll rack up $100 in rental alone for a board, so getting a used board isn't a complete waste of money in any way.

Can someone with better knowledge than me lend a hand (or a board!) ?
GuelphNoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-01-2013, 07:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Not quite reformed yet

You might be able to find a half decent used board for $100, but consider this. If you try snowboarding and hate it? (...might seem unlikely, but it happens.) Then several hundred dollars for boots & board? Now that's a waste of money.

I suggest that first you go and take a lesson, (or several) with some rented or borrowed gear! If you love it? That will be the time to spend some coin on the good stuff! (...and you will spend some coin!!!)

2012/13 (48) days out!
2013/14 (44) days out!
chomps1211 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 11:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

So stoked that you are getting into it!