Bindings Flow Vs "Toecaps" - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2008, 11:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
ketchupgun

Default Bindings Flow Vs "Toecaps"

Hello...(first post...hi!)

I'm 32 yo.
190 lbs
5'9"
11.5 size boots
I ride with nothing specific in mind...lots of off-piste, carving, freeride, dabble in the park, moguls..like to take lots of jumps off anything...but nothing too dedicated. I usually spend about 4-5 weeks of solid riding per season (xmas in Quebec or Vermont and Feb/Mar in Verbier Switzerland). I've been riding for like 10 years...and my wife/lifetime snow-partner is a skiier (but of equally advanced skill as me).

My board is an Option Booter with Flow AMP9 bindings.

[/background]

So I started using Flow bindings two years ago to speed things up with my skiier wife...and the ease of in-out with them is AMAZING, and I really love them. I am curious though about these Burton bindings with this toe cap business. And I have missed EVERY SINGLE demo day so far.

Can anyone shed some light on the differences / advantages of these strap in bindings vs the Flow? Keep in mind, I'm not out to compete or become the next Terje. I just go out to have fun with my wife. Money is no problem. But I'm just curious about trying a different binding.

And which Burton binding should I look into if I want to try? I see the red customs? or the cartel? Not sure

thx in advance.

Last edited by ketchupgun; 12-15-2008 at 11:47 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-15-2008, 11:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

What a toecap/capstrap does, is it goes around and over the boot. This holds it down and pulls it back into the heelcup. It doesn't have the pressure points of a regular strap.

But if you're on Flows and you like them, there's really no reason to go back to regular straps.

GOD IS DONUT