NS PROTO (another thread, sorry, sorry) 0.5 degree bevel, tuning detuning - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2013, 07:01 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default NS PROTO (another thread, sorry, sorry) 0.5 degree bevel, tuning detuning

Setting up my proto and preparing to start tuning my own boards. I have always waxed them myself but just neglected the edges all season really.

So I hear there is now a 0.5 bevel on the NS proto hd's released recently, when I go to sharpen the edges/tune the board, what do I set the file guide to?? My mates two tools either do 88, 89, 90 or I think the other does 85-90. Don't think either goes in halves. Is 0.5 an 89.5 degree?

Sorry, as in my name I am a complete noob with tuning.

Oh and worth detuning up to the contact points (after the rocker). Only ever ridden straight out the packet before.

Please save me from doing anything horrible to my beautiful new board. Thanks guys!!
SAVETHISNOOB is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-27-2013, 07:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

Why would you want to detune the Proto? Just hot wax and shred!
Mystery2many is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 07:12 PM   #3 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystery2many View Post
Why would you want to detune the Proto? Just hot wax and shred!
Already undergone the pregame waxing... All set.
A lot of mates and forum users advised detuning tips/tails for butters/presses.

How do you sharpen your proto? Or how often?

Thunkyoumuchly
Old 11-27-2013, 07:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Veteran Member