Need help/advice finding a new board!!! - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2013, 06:25 PM   #1 (permalink)

Smile Need help/advice finding a new board!!!

I have been riding for 8 or 9 years now and have had 3 boards. I currently ride a 2010 Rome Artifact 1985 in a 150 and I love it. I am slightly over 5'9'' and around 150-155lbs. Only problem is that I am more of a jumps person than a jibbing person. I'd say maybe 75% jumps, 25% jibbing. The flex is nice, but I lose control of my board, especially at higher speeds, and often bail on bigger sized jumps. I mainly ride park, especially out where I live in the Midwest(Chicago) area, but I also enjoy just cruising the mountain and going down some more aggressive black diamond type runs, as well as some backcountry and bowls, when I fly out west.

That being said, I am looking to get a new board for this season, especially since my Artifact cracked a bit on both ends last year. I havnt really ever looked too much into the board technology behind snowboards, nor have I kept up with board technology over the 2 years or so. I need some advice. Should I get a much stiffer board? Should I go up in size? Should I try going with a Camber board instead of a Rocker like my Artifact? Or should I try some Hybrid board? Will a stiffer/longer board make spinning or grabs harder? Will it be a lot different for jibbing as well?

Some brands I usually have liked in the past are: Burton, Capita, DC, Rome, Lib Tech, Ride, Stepchild. I personally have only owned Burton and Rome boards, but am down to try something new.
Some boards I have taken an interest in currently:
2014 DC Mega, 2014 DC Lauri Pro, 2014 Rome Postermania, 2014 Rome Agent
Some of my friends have recommended: