Old School in need of New School advice - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2013, 01:18 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Old School in need of New School advice

First off I'd like to say hello to everyone. Been lurking here forever and final decided to take the sign up plunge because I'm in need of a little board selection help.

Rider Stats
Height: 5'9"
Weight: 165 Lbs
Shoe Size: 9.5-10
Budget: Doesn't matter
Location: Southeast, mostly North Carolina with a few trips to Snowshoe WV.

I've only ridden 2 boards in my entire 20 years of riding, first lasted me 14 years, and old 153 Burton A Twin and I've been riding a 156 Custom X since about 2006. The leap in tech was huge between the 2 boards, really refreshed my riding experience.

My riding style as of late has been all mountain, but it could be the board dictating that, and that's what most of my friends are doing, very rarely do we hit the park anymore. I'm getting older now and don't quite bounce back as well as I used to.

Big air really isn't found in my neck of the woods although I'm very comfortable launching off whatever I find. I don't play on rails and boxes much although I would if I came across more, those didn't even exist when I started out. I ride from the top to the bottom and hit whatever I can find, be it natural features (this is big for me, I look at the natural terrain for difficulty so I tend to ride over what normal people might avoid), little kickers, fresh powder on the edges of groomed, little tree runs, maybe a park run if it's convenient to my line. At this point after having sex with the mountain for 20 years, anything that can spice up the trail is nice. I will straight air, 180-360 off of just about anything I can find.