My first board. Purchase online or at stores? Advise? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2009, 12:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Chickenrice

Default My first board. Purchase online or at stores? Advise?

I tried snowboarding my first time in Jan 08, and i fell in love with the sport.
Live in Los Angeles, and since the weather's been getting cold (a storm came a week before Christmas!), snows up! Time to get to the mountains!
Closest is Mount Baldy and Big Bear, or Yosemite.

I'm ready to invest in one, gonna use it a lot.
I'm still a beginner, but i can see myself getting really into it. (Maybe stunts in the future?)

My question to you pros is, where should i buy my first board?
Stores? (Sport Chalet, Big 5, local skate/snow board stores)
or maybe stores up in the mountains where theres snow? Will they be slashing prices to encourage quick purchases to clear stock?

or online?
Don't worry, i did my homework. I saw a few threads in the forums about recommended sites.
And i've been reading on what to look out for when buying your first board. There are even Youtube videos too for those of you in the same boat as me.

And if possible, it'll be awesome if some of you could let me know an estimate of how much i should spend.
Will need board, bindings, goggles.
Already have boots and clothes.

This is a great site!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-01-2009, 01:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
junkie28

Welcome to the Snowboarding Forums! You've come to the right place. I think first of all you should learn about what snowboards you think you might be interested in, Free-style or Freeride, post your weight, show size, and budget on your first board.