Help!!! Nitro vs Never Summer - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2013, 08:36 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Help!!! Nitro vs Never Summer

Hello, I'm a newbie. Looking for feedback before I go out and spend a small fortune on my teens set up. He started out on a Nitro 152 subzero, has had it a few years. He rides mountain and park. HE's TALL and still growing. Currently 13, 6', 172lbs and most likely in a 13 boot this year. Sooooooo, he was thinking Nitro T1 159wide, but a local board shop talked him out of it. They said its too big of a board for park and he would hate it. They carry never summer and suggested the 156wide legacy. Decision time! Also, they said stay away from nitro bindings and go with burton missions or cartel. Please, please, please help with your insight and recommendations. Thanks!
Tr3ys Mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-11-2013, 08:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

They're pushing him and you towards the more expensive boards/bindings. Those aren't what he needs. Hell the Legacy is more all mountain freeride than freestyle, so why they recommended that is beyond me. My guess is they're morons.

At that age I highly doubt he's really a 13 boot, maybe a street shoe, but not a snowboard boot. He's just going off how his shoes should feel and not how a boot should actually fit.

Where does he ride, where do you live, and what are your other options from the stores around you or are you willing to shop online? I know we're down to the wire for shipping online, but it might be a more viable option than dealing with the incompetency of your local shop.
Old 12-11-2013, 09:01 AM   #3 (permalink)