advice on a setup for a beginning rider - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2009, 12:46 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default advice on a setup for a beginning rider

About me:
28 years old
Intermediate skier but decided to switch to snowboarding this season
5'10"
170 lbs
Budget - I'd like to keep it under $1000 for the whole setup, the lower the better. I don't need top of the line stuff, but i definitely want a setup that will progress with me for at least a few seasons.

I'm a beginner rider but i feel like i'm at least a little ahead of the learning curve. I've only gone three times but i'm riding blue squares and i can link turns/carve no problem, i can stop heelside and toeside, and i control my speed pretty well. Each time i go i'm fine-tuning my body/board control and keeping my balance better. Usually when I fall itís when I slide out on ice or when I hit a spot where it goes from ice to powder or something where the terrain changes quickly and I get thrown off balance when Iím turning.

I rented gear (boots, bindings, and board) for $125 for the season and I plan on keeping my eye out for some deals during the season and getting my own setup that i can hopefully ride at least a few times before the season is over. I'm looking for an all-mountain board because i'll primarily be riding hills but i also like doing jumps and would like a setup that will let me play in the park a little once i get a little better.

Based on the criteria of wanting an all-mountain board and having graphics that I like (black/dark board with simple, clean graphics), Iíve come up with the following list of boards to consider, although Iím certainly open to other suggestions:

Ride Cartel (155) - $350
Ride Prophet (155) - $460
Atomic Hatchet (156) Ė I think around $360
Never Summer SL-R (155) - $500