New Board Advice - all mountain/jumps - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2013, 04:54 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default New Board Advice - all mountain/jumps

Hey,
I've been riding for about 10 years, but get out maybe a dozen times a year. I like to ride all mountain and park (1/3-1/2 of the time?). But I mainly hit jumps, a few boxes, but definitely not looking for a jib board. I'm somewhat new to the Pacific Northwest, but I'm not really looking for a powder board right now (I'm young, so I don't mind the extra work when I do get to ride powder). I want something to hit big kickers and do spins, but also just cruise around the whole mountain. Prefer a true twin, centered stance for riding switch.

I've had a 2006 K2 Darkstar (154) for a long time now and was pretty clueless to the new board tech. I got a chance to demo some Lib Tech/GNU boards recently, which have steered me a bit in the general direction of what I want, but I want some help narrowing down the list.

I tried the GNU Pickle 156 (wanted a Skate Banana, but they didn't have it). I wouldn't say I hated it, but I felt like it was my first time on a snowboard for the first run. Didn't like the "loose" feel to it. Loved the magnetraction, especially because there wasn't much snow and it could handle the really icy spots. Also, the asymmetric sidecut just felt weird to me. I didn't know about it until after I swapped boards, but I did feel like I wanted to ride more on my heels. I also tried a TRS 154. I really liked that board. It felt more "stable" and aggressive, like I'm used to on my traditional camber board.