How flex in boards relate to flex in bindings etc? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2014, 02:45 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default How flex in boards relate to flex in bindings etc?

I'm trying to understand why softer/more flexible boards are better for beginners.

Board flex makes it easier to turn, needing less effort to make the board do what you want, but how do flexible bindings play into that equation? Wouldn't stiff bindings and a flexible board work better?

The soft boot part I get, you want to be able to bend a boot in order to flex a snowboard, you don't want to be putting all you effort into moving in a boot, but the binding part confuses me.

(I'm a beginner boarder. Only been out 5-6 times. Just learned to link heel and toe edge turns comfortably last week.)
Wes_Dark is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-02-2014, 03:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

Stiff boots and bindings send every tiny movement you make into the board, which causes a reaction when riding on snow. Softer Boots and bindings act as a buffer for tiny movements, allowing more leeway for mistakes. Also i have found softer bindings to be more comfortable.
Old 01-02-2014, 03:35 PM   #3 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riley212 View Post
Stiff boots and bindings send every tiny movement you make into the board, which causes a reaction when riding on snow. Softer Boots and bindings act as a buffer for tiny movements, allowing more leeway for mistakes. Also i have found softer bindings to be more comfortable.
So that mans stiffer boots and bindings require less input to turn, if you can control those inputs.

So you could find a balance between a medium flex board and soft binding/boots and get the same result as a soft board and medium flex bindings/boots...or some combination of the 3?