Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums

Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/forum.php)
-   Boards (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/)
-   -   confused over board advice (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/11782-confused-over-board-advice.html)

wallew3 01-18-2009 08:59 AM

confused over board advice

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

6 ft
210 lbs
Size 11 boot

mostly ride northeast hardpack and man made snow
75% freeride and 25% pipe and small kickers(no rails, got hurt enough in my younger years skating rails)

It is my second season riding and am addicted. I would rate myself as intermediate. I am advancing my skills pretty quick, I have 20 years of surfing and skating experience.

I currently ride a Rossignal Roc D 164 I got on ebay cheap last season. I am shopping for a new board.

I have read everything I can online and talked to many people on the mountain and in local shops. Some say I need a wide board, but some say wide boards ride like crap and are not responsive.

I want a board that turns on a dime , but will be stable at high speeds, and can do the occasional trip down the pipe.

I went on the Ride site and used the board finder option and the top two boards it gave me were the Control 162 and the Fleetwood 158.

I am open to other boards.

I was wondering what other people my size are riding.

powderjet81 01-18-2009 10:54 AM

I think that a Rome Flag 163 would be perfect for you.

The flag is just a wide version of the anthem. They are designed exactly for the type of riding that you want to do. The flag has a lot of pop and turns really well but can really handle speed and pipe.

Like you've been told a lot of wide boards lack performance but rome has really got this one right. I have not ridden one myself but i have a friend who's about your size who has one and just loves it.