When to stop renting and buy - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2014, 06:11 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default When to stop renting and buy

I am a newbie coming from the world of windsurfing (where I bought gear right away).

I am renting gear day by day but wonder, at what point do I buy a board? What is the learning curve and when would I advanced to a point to use the same board for a few years at least? I honestly see myself boarding 10 times a year so don't want to pack in a lot of cash yet do want a nice board eventually.

Thanks in advance
caribchakita is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-20-2014, 06:16 PM   #2 (permalink)

if you already went snowboarding and really like it I would say go buy it and if your gonna go 10 times a year its a good investment
Poop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 06:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

I rode 40 times on my first board/binding kit I picked up used for $200. If you like riding, pick something up soon. You'll be glad ya did.
Old 01-20-2014, 06:34 PM   #4 (permalink)

I weigh 120-125 and am 5'2". I rented a 140 and a 138 I think. What would be recommended and are there any great used gear forums or is buying new more advised? Again, I come from a windsurfing perspective where buying used gear is the norm.
caribchakita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 06:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

Quote:
Originally Posted by caribchakita View Post
I weigh 120-125 and am 5'2". I rented a 140 and a 138 I think. What would be recommended and are there any great used gear forums or is buying new more advised? Again, I come from a windsurfing perspective where buying used gear is the norm.