Why are some bindings so expensive? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2009, 08:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
schro31185

Default Why are some bindings so expensive?

Looking to get some new bindings for my ancient board. Anyway wehn I went riding saturday I looked at the ones on display at the pro shop. My local hill sells only Burton (Paoli, IN), but I noticed that everything from the $80 freestyle bindings, to the $250 cartels (i think) looked almost exactly the same. They all had the same adjustments, and they were all made of plastic. Is there really any difference in the models other than cosmetics? Also wouldn't an aluminum base be stronger than plastic?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-26-2009, 09:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

Hi. I'm a bit of a noob myself, but I think I have some of this snowboard stuff figured out.

First off, with a $250-to-$80 price differential, I am willing to bet that the $250 bindings were late modeland the $80 ones were 1 or 2 seasons old.

An aluminum base will be stronger than plastic, but if everything is dialed in and tightened properly then you shouldn't notice much of a difference under normal boarding conditions. A metal base will (obviously) hold up better over time and be less prone to outright breakage.

Yeah, lots of the bindings look almost identical in function. It most cases there are only minor differences... ability to change the angle of the 'high-back', material of construction for the latches & release, range of movement of the binding straps, etc.